2018 September Release

Security ConceptPermanent link for this heading

The management of access rights is based on the defined team of the personnel file shelf. Additionally, categories can be used to assign fine-grained access rights to personnel files, personnel file folders and documents.

Finally, the security concept allows defining retention rules and access by employees and supervisors.

Note: ACL is the abbreviation for “Access Control List” and defines the access rights from a technical point of view.

Authorize Team (Personnel File Shelf)Permanent link for this heading

By default only team members have access rights.

  • Full Control
    Users with full control can change the settings of the personnel file shelf and delete personnel files and documents permanently (if no retention rules are violated).
  • Change Access
    Users with change access can manage personnel files and documents.
  • Read Access (Restricted Master Data)
    Users with read access and restricted master data access can only read a few metadata of a personnel file. They can also navigate to personnel file folders and documents that are specified by a category. To do so users/organizations can be defined in a category on the “Permissions” tab in the Change Access for Objects with this Category or Read Access for Objects with this Category field.
    This way it can be realized, for example, that the IT department can save, cancel or restore order confirmations without having access to the remaining data of the personnel file.
  • Read Access (Master Data)
    In addition to the read access all master data (except sensitive master data like birthplace, social security number, nationality, denomination, gross income, bank account and comments) is readable.
  • Skills Manager
    Skills manager manage qualifications, job and role descriptions and can generate overviews of missing qualifications of employees.
    They have access to all master data (except sensitive master data like birthplace, social security number, nationality, denomination, gross income, bank account and comments). Skill masters have no access to the documents of the personnel file, unless they have been authorized by a category.

Note: Access rights can also be defined by defining access for employees and supervisors.

CategoryPermanent link for this heading

Categories of personnel files, personnel file folders and documents can define access rights, retention rules and automatic follow-ups.

PermissionsPermanent link for this heading

On the “Permissions” tab following fields are provided:

  • Default ACL for Objects with this Category
    If an access by employees and supervisors is defined, documents can be excluded (without access) or change rights can be granted.
  • Change Access for Objects with this Category
    Users who have not been defined as team members get change access on objects with this category.
  • Read Access for Objects with this Category
    Users who have not been defined as team members get read access on objects with this category.

Retention WorthyPermanent link for this heading

Retention worthy documents cannot be deleted as long as the personnel file is “Active”. The retention worthiness can be defined by the assigned category. To do so, in the category, on the “Retention Rules” tab, the Retention Worthy field must be marked.

Retention PeriodsPermanent link for this heading

Retention periods prevent the deletion of personnel files or documents until the time limit expires. Retention periods cannot be backdated.

Retention periods are, for example, used to prevent the deletion of documents for a certain period of time after an employee leaves the company.

Categories Define the Retention Rules

In the category of personnel files or documents a retention rule is defined (example: retention period of 30 years after an employee leaves the company).

To do so, in the category, on the “Retention Rules” tab the Retention Worthy field must be marked. The Retention Period and Base Date for Retention Period fields the retention period can be defined.

Apply Rules When Closing a Personnel File (Default Method)

The background task applies the rule defined in the category at a defined point in time (example: one day after the separation date the rule is applied).

Configure a default category for personnel files in the personnel file configuration or shelf. In the category, specify a default background task that starts a process that contains the “Close Personnel File” activity. For example, select “1 day” for the time interval, “After” as operator and “Separation Date (Personnel File)” entry as base date for the time interval. This will start the close process one day after the separation date. The retention periods are calculated and applied on closing.

Apply Rules With Background Tasks (Alternative Method)

The background task applies the rule defined in a category at a defined time (for example, the rule is applied one day after the separation date is reached).

The background tasks can be defined either in the personnel file shelf on the “Settings” tab in the Default Background Tasks field or in the category on the “Retention Rules” tab in the Default Background Tasks field.

In the background task, in the Action field the Determine Retention Period Based on the Category entry must be selected. The execution of the background task is based either on the Time Interval and the Base Date for Time Interval or is based on a specific Date. The base date may refer either to a date field of the document or on a date field of the assigned personnel file.

The background tasks assigned to the individual personnel files or documents can be viewed on the “Retention” tab in the Background Tasks field (only visible if at least one background task is available). The background tasks are taken from the personnel file shelf and from the assigned category. If default background tasks are changed in the personnel file shelf or category, they are not adopted automatically. An update can be performed via the context menu command “Update Background Tasks”.

DisposalPermanent link for this heading

After the retention period documents can be deleted again. To delete documents automatically or to start a workflow to confirm the deletion, categories and background tasks can also be used.

To do so, add in the category that defines the retention period, an additional background task. In general, it makes sense to define the Retention Period as base date for the execution of the task. As action, you can either select “Delete Automatically”, “Delete Automatically (Documents of Closed Personnel Files Are Not Deleted)” or “Start Process”. If you want to start a process, you must also specify the process. In the process, a task with the activity “Retention Period Exceeded” should be defined.

When the background task is executed, the process is started and can be processed by the defined users in the worklist. The “Retention Period Exceeded” activity provides the steps “Delete”, “Extend Retention Period” and “Accept”.

Personnel File AccessPermanent link for this heading

Accessing a personnel file by the employee himself or by supervisors can be defined on the “Access” tab of a personnel file.

Note: The access rights granted during temporary access correspond to the access rights granted to the assigned user.

If certain documents should be inaccessible or changeable, a category can be used to define special ACLs:

  • ACL for Personnel File Documents Without Access for Employees/Supervisors
  • ACL for Personnel File Documents Without Access for Employees
  • ACL for Personnel File Documents Without Access for Supervisors
  • ACL for Personnel File Documents With Change Access for Employees
  • ACL for Personnel File Documents With Change Access for Employees/Supervisors
  • ACL for Personnel File Documents With Change Access for Supervisors